shadow – a childhood remembered

22261a3b-47b7-4c80-b9d1-4352d0f56dde
WriMoSaturday – when I took the afternoon off in Petra (Mallorca)

 

I spent a week with other WriMo’s and took the Saturday afternoon off to climb up to a mountain I always saw reflected in the bedroom mirror, while sitting at my desk writing my NaNoWriMo-story.

the sun sat low on the western sky, when I arrived back down in the plains again. It painted my shadow on this empty field, already prepared for the next crop in spring. I was all on my own. no people to be seen. no sound to be heard.

and I remembered how Saturday felt, when I was small. when on Saturday late afternoons the world around me slowed down and grew quiet. the pathways were swept, the gravel paths were raked clean. I was all on my own, the other kids had gone home. and for a short moment, the world felt wide and empty and was there just for me.

soon I would have to go back inside for my bath too.

pingback: Foto-Challenge: Shadow

Danke für deinen Kommentar:

Eine WordPress.com-Website.

Nach oben ↑

Whatever

THIS MACHINE MOCKS FASCISTS

Leya

To See a World in a Grain of Sand...

Amanda Mininger

Writer | Author